LEED® Registered Building Projects

This guideline describes the USGBC’s LEED 2009—Green Building Design and Construction rating program, and offers information on how S-5!® products can be used by design professionals involved in a LEED registered building project.

S-5! Product Guideline

The U.S. Green Building Council established the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) green building rating program in 1998. Since then it has transformed the building environment by emphasizing sustainable building design. LEED 2009 is the newest version of the USGBC green building certification program and is used by architects and most Federal agencies, states and local governments. LEED 2009 is based on an integrated “whole building” design approach to sustainability.

Seven key categories of sustainability are covered:

  1. Sustainable Sites
  2. Water Efficiency
  3. Energy and Atmosphere
  4. Materials and Resources
  5. Indoor Environmental Quality
  6. Regional Priority
  7. Innovation in Design

The LEED 2009 program includes rating programs for Green Building Design and Construction, Green Interior Design and Construction, and Green Building Operations and Maintenance. This S-5! guideline refers to LEED 2009 Green Building Design and Construction, which covers the rating systems for the design, construction and major renovations of commercial and institutional buildings, including core and shell, and K-12 school projects.

To gain LEED certification, a building project must meet certain requirements and benchmarks related to the building’s energy and environmental performance. Points are awarded for specific credits in each of the seven key categories listed above.

The categories and point structure in the Green Building Design and Construction program are as follows:

  • Sustainable Sites (SS)—max 26 points
  • Water Efficiency (WE)—max 10 points
  • Energy and Atmosphere (EA)—max 35 points
  • Materials and Resources (MR)—max 14 points
  • Indoor Environmental Quality (IEQ)—max 15 points
  • Regional Priority (RP)—max 4 points
  • Innovation in Design (ID)—max 6 points

Building projects are awarded LEED 2009 certification at four distinct levels:

  1. Certified (40-49 points)
  2. Silver (50-59 points)
  3. Gold (60-79 points)
  4. Platinum (80+ points)